Home > Products & Services > Foreign Desk


Foreign Desk


The Foreign Desk was established in 1991 to facilitate the trading of shares on the foreign stock exchanges. It was initially set up to cater to the demand of clients investing in the Singapore and Hong Kong stock exchanges. However over the years it expanded to cover more countries.

With the introduction of Direct Market Access (DMA) trading platform in some of the established markets, Dealers at the Foreign Desk are now able to route orders directly to these exchanges using the online trading platform.

Currently, the foreign desk is able to trade in the exchanges of the following countries:



Trading Hours
(Local Time)


Trading Hours
(Local Time)

Singapore (SGX)

9.00 am – 12.00 pm (morning session)
1.00 pm – 5.00 pm (afternoon session)

Australia (ASX)

7.00 am – 1.00 pm (1st Sunday Oct - 1st Sunday Apr)
8.00 am – 2.00 pm (1st Sunday Apr - 1st Sunday Oct)

Shanghai / Shenzhen HK Stock Connect

9:30 am - 11:30 am (morning session)
1.00 pm - 3.00 pm (afternoon session)

Hong Kong (HKEX)

9.30 am - 12.00 pm (morning session)
1.00 pm - 4.00 pm (afternoon session)


9.30 pm – 4.00 am (1st Sunday Nov - 2nd Sunday Mar)
10.30 pm – 5.30 am (2nd Sunday Mar - 1st Sunday Nov)

Thailand (TSE)

11.00 am – 1.30 pm (morning session)
3.30 pm - 5.30 pm (afternoon session)

Japan (TSE)
8.00 am - 10.30 am (morning session)
11:30 am - 2.00 pm (afternoon session)

3.00 pm - 11.30 pm (last Sunday Nov - last Sunday Mar)
4.00 pm - 12.30 am (last Sunday Mar - last Sunday Nov)

Canada (TMX)

9.30 pm - 4.00 am (1st Sunday Nov - 2nd Sunday Mar)
10.30 pm - 5.00 am (2nd Sunday Mar - 1st Sunday Nov)
Indonesia (IDX)

Monday - Thurday
10.00 am - 12.30 pm (morning session)
2.30 pm - 4.00 pm (afternoon session)

Note :

Day Light Savings Time is observed where the time is shifted forward by 1 hour in the following countries:

1.USA / Canada - begin on the 2nd Sunday in March and ends on the 1st Sunday in November
2.UK - begins on the last Sunday in March and ends on the last Sunday in November
3.Australia - begins on the 1st Sunday in October and ends on the 1st Sunday in April

How to trade on other recognised Exchanges

  1. Clients have to open a Trading Account with us and sign the Risk Disclosure form.

  2. Clients must submit a signed Statutory Declaration on the client's domestic borrowing to Documentation Department

  3. Clients must first sign the Tax withholding form (W-8BEN) before trading in US shares.

For further information, contact us at:
Tel: (603) 2072 1277 ext. 6141 or 1317
Fax: (603) 2072 7100



Terms, Conditions and Disclaimers. Copyright © 2009 All rights reserved. Powered by TA Group
| Policy on Personal Data Protection | Contact | TA Online | Sitemap